3rd Energy Transitions Working Group (ETWG) meeting under India’s G20 Presidency to commence in Mumbai from May 15 – 17, 2023

MAY 14, 2023

The 3rd Energy Transitions Working Group Meeting (ETWG) under India’s G20 Presidency starts in Mumbai from May 15 to 17, 2023. The meeting will bring together over 100 delegates from G20 member countries, special invitee countries and International Organisations such as International Energy Agency (IEA), and United Nations Environment Program (UNEP).

The 3rd ETWG Meeting will be chaired by Shri Alok Kumar, who serves as the ETWG Chair and Secretary of the Ministry of Power, Government of India. Shri Bhupinder Singh Bhalla, Secretary of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Shri Vivek Bharadwaj, Secretary of the Ministry of Mines, and Shri Amrit Lal Meena, Secretary of the Ministry of Coal, will also be part of the meeting and participate in the deliberations.

The Special Address on the opening day of the Meeting will be given by Hon’ble Minister of State for Railways, Coal and Mines, Govt. of India, Shri Raosaheb Danve.

There are six priority areas outlined under India’s G20 Presidency. These priority areas reflect India's focus on various aspects of energy transition and building global cooperation towards sustainable and clean energy development. The six priority areas are (i) Energy transition through addressing technology gaps (ii) Low-cost financing for energy transition (iii) Energy security and diversified supply chains (iv) Energy efficiency, industrial low carbon transitions and responsible consumption, (v) Fuels for Future (3F) and (vi) Universal access to clean energy and just, affordable, and inclusive energy transition pathway.

The first two meetings of the ETWG were held in Bengaluru and Gandhinagar, respectively. The discussions and deliberations in Mumbai will continue to build on the first two ETWG meetings to identify and promote best practices, policies, and innovative approaches that can support a just and inclusive energy transition. The goal is to develop a collective roadmap for achieving sustainable and equitable growth while addressing the challenges associated with energy transition effectively.

On the sidelines, the Meeting will be complemented by eight side events, which further enrich the discussions and provide focused insights on various aspects of energy transition. These side events are – ‘Workshop with MDBs with the aim for mobilizing low-cost international finance, ‘Seminar on Just Transition Roadmap’, ‘Seminar on Biofuels’, ‘Seminar on Off-shore Wind’, ‘Sharing global policies and best practices to decarbonize had-to-abate sectors’, ‘Seminar on SMRs (Small Modular Reactors) for clean energy transition’, ‘Synergizing the energy transition pathways of G20 ETWG and B20 India Energy Perspective’, and ‘Accelerating Energy Efficiency and promoting and energy efficient life.’

India's G20 Presidency's is committed to build upon the efforts and outcomes of previous presidencies underlining the continuity and collective pursuit of global cooperation in clean energy transition. India's G20 Presidency aims to continue this trajectory and further strengthen global cooperation in clean energy transition.