Digital Economy

The Digital Economy Task Force (DETF) was established under the 2017 German presidency, based on the decision adopted in Hangzhou in 2016 under the Chinese Presidency. In Antalya, under the Turkish presidency in 2015, G20 leaders recognized the modern period as a critical era of digital transformation, influenced by the advent of new technologies as key elements for economic development.

The digital economy refers to a broad range of activities which include: the use of knowledge and information as factors in production, information networks as a platform for action, and how the information and communication technology (ICT) sector spurs economic growth.

The Digital Economy Task Force will meet twice in 2018: on 8-9 February and 21-22 August. The Digital Economy Ministerial Meeting will take place on 23-24 August.


During the Chinese and German presidencies, G20 members prepared a roadmap to improve how new digital technologies are adopted, to adapt public policies to this new digital era, and to support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) so that they can reap the benefits of the digitalization. Critical to the G20's work involves taking issues gender, safety, and consumer privacy into account.

Working over the base of previous consensuses achieved, and through representing a young, diverse, and creative region, the Argentine presidency seeks to provide recommendations for inclusive development in the era of digital transformation. With a particular focus on gender, the following themes will be discussed:

  • Digital inclusion
  • Future job skills
  • Digital government
  • SMEs & entrepreneurship
  • Industry 4.0 & agricultural technology